Month: February 2011

  • Miami – September 2010

    I’m back from my trip. I’d returned last week much darker than I’d wanted. Around 800 photographs were shot so it will be some time before I sift through them all. Next week I will be on jury service for the first time in addition to sorting out my photographs from Thailand taken last year too.

    Anyway, I want to complete the posting of pictures from my trip in September last year. My previous entry contained photographs shot in Mexico. I’d headed straight to Miami afterwards so without further ado:

     

    Joel, very helpful and friendly receptionist at the hotel I’d stayed in in Miami Beach.

    Joel pointed out the best places to eat and the best venues to go at night. He even drove me to a Japanese all you can eat seafood buffet in Greater Miami.


    Alligator in the Everglades.


    Our guide in the swamp.


    An airboat passing by.

      
    Baby croc!
      

      
    Explaining the difference between a turtle and a tortoise.

     
    A skunk.


    Demonstrating how fast he can pull his hand away just before the alligator snaps his mouth shut.


    “Look, no hands!”
      


    Little Havana, Miami
     


     


    Cockerels freely roaming around in a residential street in Little Havana.


    Artwork in Little Havana

    It was always my intention to visit Cuba one day, especially before Fidel and Raul Castro are gone and the country undergo dramatic change. The visit to Little Havana finally provided the push I’d needed. 


    Ocean Drive littered with art deco buildings.

    Al Pacino. Scarface. Chainsaw.


    Gianni Versace House, Ocean Drive.


    Vintage car parked on Ocean Drive.
     


     

    Ocean Drive at dusk, Miami


     

     
    A fantastic place for chocolate! Lincoln Road Mall.

     
    A drag queen host at one of the bars on Ocean Drive.


    One of the top bars on Ocean Drive.
     


    Dancers at Mango’s Bar, Miami.
     

     
    The Metromover – free train that loops Downtown Miami.


    Reaching out for something in Downtown Miami.


    Sunset at South Pointe Park, Miami Beach.

    I’d been uploading photos from my travels first onto Facebook before posting them onto xanga. I think I should reprioritise and blog about my trips first and post the pictures here before uploading them onto the social network.


    Say It S-l-o-w-l-y

    A man and his wife were driving their RV across Florida and were nearing a town called Kissimmee. They noted the strange spelling and tried to figure how to pronounce it — KISS-a-me; kis-A-me; kis-a-ME?

    They grew more perplexed as they drove into the town. Since they were hungry, they pulled into a restaurant to get something to eat. At the counter, the man said to the waitress; “My wife and I can’t seem to be able to figure out how to pronounce this place. Will you tell me where we are and say it very slowly so that I can understand?”

    The woman looked at him and said; “Buuurrrgerrr Kiiiinnnng.”

      


    Hairy Valentine

    Funny Picture - A Hairy Valentine