Month: October 2011

  • Is It Brave?

    The news about a pending new addition to my family was somewhat tinged by tragedy. An indirect member of my family committed suicide a couple of days ago. I don’t know the circumstances as yet as one of my siblings had to rush off with the partner.

    When this was mentioned to one of my friends, I was shocked by her reaction: she thought “it was brave to find the courage to end one’s life cos of the misery you feel”. My reaction? What. The. Fuck? How is it brave to take one’s own life? Granted, my friend is still recovering from her breakup of a long term relationship at the beginning of the year and might not be thinking rationally. I wasn’t prepared for her disclosure that suicide had entered her thoughts a few months ago. Fear of the pain and how messy it might be prevented her from committing the act. Her girlfriends dragged her to the doctor and enrolled her for counselling sessions. Unfortunately counselling is not covered by the private health insurance provided by her new company that she started employment with last month. 

    I’m beginning to fear that morbid tendencies might be creeping back into her train of thought as a result. She’d commented suicide would be easier with a gun and that she has “respect for those that can go through with it.” In an effort to help her, I’d revealed something personal that only a couple of people know about and since it was a long time ago I no longer have any reservations about such a disclosure. I myself was suicidal when I was 18-19 years old. I was suffering from depression at the time. Thoughts about the methods of ending it all and where constantly plagued my mind.  

    My friend is now being mildly dismissive, telling me she “is going through something that I probably never had before.”

    She has always been a vivacious person, at least on the surface, and I hope she will emerge from her dark period soon.  

     


    Where Have I Been?

    Since my last travel blog was about the trip to Mexico and Miami in September 2010, and the sheer volume of photos accumulated since then, I have decided to just post one or a couple of pics of the destinations I have visited since that time. Those who are friends with me on Facebook have access to all those photos.  

     

     Thailand

     

    Havana, Cuba

     

    Havana, Cuba

     

    Havana, Cuba

     

    Havana, Cuba

     

    Havana, Cuba

     

     Vinales, Cuba

     

     Cienfuegos, Cuba

     

     Trinidad, Cuba

     

     Trinidad, Cuba

     

     Trinidad, Cuba

     

     New York

     

      New York

     

    Los Angeles

     

    Brussels, Belgium

     

     Brussels, Belgium

     

      Bruges, Belgium

     

      Bruges, Belgium

     

     Paris

     

     Paris

     

     Venice

     

     Venice

     

     Verona, Italy

     

     Barcelona

     

    Barcelona

     


    Haunting

    Lana del Rey has replaced A Fine Frenzy as my favourite artist with the melodic haunting voice

     

     


     

    Happy Halloween!
     

    problem

    pumpkin decoration

    Currently
    Tropa de Elite 2 [Blu-Ray] – NO ENGLISH
    By Wagner Moura, Irandhir Santos, Andre Ramiro
    see related

     

  • Seven days to go…

    …until a new addition to the Family…