January 1, 2011

  • Looking Forward To The New Decade

     For some inexplicable reason, I just felt like blogging today: the first day of 2011, the first day of the new decade (and 2011 is the start of the new decade, not 2010, look it up if you don’t believe me). I think it is precisely that very reason the urge to express myself was overwhelming. Yesterday was spent at work but my mind was reminiscing on events that occurred during the previous decade. The catalyst being the uploading of a batch of photos I’d took with my first ever digital camera onto Facebook (add me as a friend if you haven’t already) which incidentally, xanga lost. All the pre-2005 photos I’d uploaded onto xanga are lost forever when they’d migrated servers and even now it surprisingly still makes my blood boil!

    My time these days are spent on Facebook and Twitter (follow me if you feel like it) as I prefer the short bursts of information to writing long blogs. But maybe it’s time to return to blogging before my writing skills start to deteriorate if it hasn’t already.

    What has the previous ten years done for me? Three major job changes. Lived in three different locations in London. Moved abroad to Amsterdam for three years. One serious relationship which resulted in an engagement that didn’t last. Three short relationships. A few flings. Broke out of my shell after years of being clinically shy (still a little shy at times happy). A complete sea change in perspective on relationships, dating and sex. Swung from romantic to cynical, sensitive to detached (not completely). Started blogging on this site; met and made some amazing friends through xanga; and Asian Avenue should deserve a mention because I’d made a few great friends whom I am still in contact with to this day. Made some fantastic friends offline. Fell out with one close friend but okay now. Fell out with one ex due to a typo on one of my posts but more to do with her misconception about me. Shame really as I was considering getting back together since her big move. Experienced one Big Birthday. Picked up photography as a hobby and interest. Extensive travelling taking me to numerous countries around the world.

    It’s safe to say I’m a completely different person in 2010 than to the one I was back in 2000. And I look forward to what the next ten years will bring with aplomb.

     

    Side note: Today is 1/1/11!

     


    Darn It!

    Does anyone know how to insert borders around a blog entry since xanga removed the one-click feature?

    Thanks in advance.

     


     

    A New Year’s Wish

    On New Year’s Eve, Marilyn stood up in the local pub and said that it was time to get ready. At the stroke of midnight, she wanted every husband to be standing next to the one person who made his life worth living.

    Well, it was kind of embarrassing.  As the clock struck – the bartender was almost crushed to death.

     


     

    Santa Showing His Grotto

     

     

Comments (12)

  • Hahahaha, that picture made me laugh! I have a twitter account, but never ever logged back in after the first week my colleagues had made me set up an account. And isn’t it common knowledge a new decade starts at the first year of a decade; ’91, ’01, etc? But yeah, Agreed, it’s been a crazy 10 years! I wonder where we’ll be in 10 years from now! And If we’ll still be blogging! It’s already been 7 years since started my blog.. so I wouldn’t be too surprised.

  • i look forward reading your previous travels as many as possible. it’ll be incredibly nice as i’ll plant a mental note of my planned destination, and i am going to hit the ripe age of traveling soon.

    have a good year.

  • happy new year!

  • Wow, major day! You’re back on Xanga too! 10 years is quite a chunk of time for a lot to happen. Sounds like you’ve been through quite a lot. I hope that you have a great 2011!

  • Nice little catchup entry.  I agree that I do enjoy the short bursts of information you can put out on Twitter/Facebook but there is something to be said about writing a long blog entry here, which allows you to reflect a little deeper.

    Regarding the borders, I’m assuming you are using the new editor and can’t get the border.  The only way I was able to do it with was to add add HTML to create it.  I used a div tag with a style equal to border:2px solid black.  (I can’t type it here because Xanga removed my HTML).

  • i think ALL of us were a different person a decade ago and hope that we’ll be a much better bunch of people in the next decade.  by the way, “a new year’s wish” is hell funny.

  • Well, I think it is fantastic that you’ve blogged again and am hopeful you’ll do more of it this year.  Short bursts of information are nice but they don’t substitute for longer, more thoughtful writing.

  • Good to see a blog from you! It has been eons!  I’ve been missing those days of the good blogs.
    Alot happened in ten years for a lot of us! Please blog a little more often when you have time…
    Cheers!

  • @o0_Gina_0o - 7 years?? Same here!

    @iso_o - How old are you exactly if you don’t mind my asking? And where would your first destination be?

    @Renatojr3 - Happy new year to you too!

    @glorycato - Hope this year will be awesome for you and your family!

    @brooklyn2028 - Thanks for the info about the border! I have to investigate further! I don’t like this new editor at all!

    @rudyhou - You will be surprised that some people never change… like some of my friends!

    @christao408@cobaltheart - I will try my best to blog more!

  • i guess there is some truth that in reality people don’t really change.  at least not entirely.  because you can’t really change someone’s character or personality.  but i believe that through different life experiences one tend to learn what it is like to be who they are and discovered along the way on ways to be themselves more.  so when people seemed to have not changed, that’s because they are now full of confidence to be more of themselves than before.  either that or they choose not to change for fear of loosing approval or acceptance from those who have accepted them for the way they have always been.  in general though, people can and do change, no matter how small.  as you grow older and wiser, you find yourself doing things or saying things differently from how you would do or say things in the past.  isn’t that qualified to be called a ‘change’?

  • @Fongster8 - There is no “try”… only “do” or “not do”.  =D

  • @Fongster8 -  3 more years and we’ll have that 10 year anniverary! =O man.. that’s way too long.. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *