February 5, 2004

  • Taxi drivers are a great source of information. In Dubai, they revealed their family history and the social change prevalent in the capital. I have chatted to cab drivers from Pakistan, Iran, India, and the Lebanon during my time in Dubai. What I had also noticed was the large amount of Chinese prostitutes in the city. Alcohol is only permitted in bars located in hotels, and it was in these establishments that I saw these prostitutes plying their trade with Westerners and Arabs. They were even in my hotel bar. Not one sight of a non-Arab man nor a non-Chinese woman in that bar. And it was a Pakistani taxi driver who provided a brief history lesson. Apparently, Filipino prostitutes were prolific in Dubai but they were driven out by the arrival of Russian prostitutes who were in turn bulldozed by the Chinese from the Mainland. Some Russian prostitutes still remained in their own areas in Dubai. I have to admit I was ashamed to see so many Chinese prostitutes who were surprised to see me! 


    The phone in my hotel room rang at all times of the day and night. When answered, it was always the voice of a woman speaking in what I thought to be Arabic. A quick respite of, “You got the wrong room” followed by the phone slamming down was always my response. One time, the woman spoke in English and pressed personal questions of what my business was in Dubai. Naturally, I refused to answer and hung up. It was only much later that I learnt from an Arab-Australian that prostitutes rent out a room in a hotel for a month, then proceed to call all the rooms in that hotel to tout for business. That certainly explained all the phone calls I was receiving for no apparent reason.


    While on the subject of prostitutes, one night I was returning to my room when the door of a room four doors down opened. An Arab man exited and quickly scurried to his room which was next door to mine. As he scrambled to open his door, my eyes noticed his left hand was clutching his underwear! He glanced at me a little embarrassed, and I just laughed.     


    It was also in Dubai that my anti-religious views of not only Christianity but also of Islam were being shaped. Muslims are not supposed to consume alcohol and yet here in Dubai, they were in all the bars I visited happily drinking. And openly playing with prostitutes. Before I went to Dubai, a Muslim friend was telling me of someone she knew that was prostituting himself to Arab men in Saudi Arabia. In my hotel bar, I went to watch a Russian band that was performing and got chatting to an Arab man. The subject steered to religion: “I try to be a good Muslim. But look at me and look at all the other Muslims in here drinking and cheating on our wives with prostitutes. I hope Allah will forgive us.” Yes indeed. Hypocrites.


    All in all, I was relieved and glad that our proposed move to Dubai never happened. Life would have been much more difficult on a non-Arabic woman than a man in an Arab Muslim country.







    Bur Dubai. Across the water crossing lies Deira.






    Moi standing on Deira. The Dubai Museum is situated on this side.






    View of Bur Dubai from Deira. The spice and gold markets are located there. I found them to be nothing special. And the beaches are not that nice despite what the Arabs say.


    Click on the pics to enlarge.


    Tomorrow: the photos of Japan…finally.


    Some other funny pics:



     


     





     

Comments (22)

  • sorry mate, thought I had already subscribed here!
    Well i just have anyhoo! And about the opinions. I agree Jehovahs Witnesses do have a reputation for broadcasting their beliefs rather loudly, but I guess its a side-effect of faith. I will however never force those beliefs on to anyone who doesn’t want to listen, or be offended if they don’t agree when they do listen. As long as they can respect my beliefs as much as I respect theirs.
    OK – now on to the fun stuff – more Dubai!
    ______
    I’ve never read such an extended entry on prostitution, but yet if it was that prolific then maybe it was worth mentioning. Although that calling from the hotel rooms is kinda hilarious. Although the fact that they tried you so many times really must show how good the British reputation is in Dubai (I assume they know you were from the UK?)
    OK, now bring on the JAPS! THOSE are the ones i’ve been looking forward to!

  • think its a good idea u r sharing the pics & the stories of ur trip. good eye-opener to those parts of the world ..

  • i love reading about your trips! and can’t wait to see the pics of Japan!Girl with a Pearl Earring is not in theatres here yet, I can’t wait to see it! And the same with “Lost in Translation”. Take care::

  • HEhehehheeh.
    ^_^
    Hmmm..well one would have to look somewhat attractive to be one right?!  So that would make that comment a compliment?!

  • nice pics
    i like sylvia plath.  liked her book the bell jar and her collection of poetry

  • hah, you havent seen lazy yet..

  • No babes pix. =(

  • haha, i found it: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=minger
    hahha, ur right . . . sooooooo bad.

  • I’m amused by the phone calls. Very aggressive of them.

  • All religions are against that behavior, but not all people follow the rules.  I think its disgusting that they do “cold calling” to the hotel rooms.  For those who do it, hope they don’t bring STDs or AIDs back home to their wives.

  • I’ll agree with secretcharmz. but also, there are many who do practice what they believe, just as there are many non-practicing christians out there.in addition to that, Islam is a religion that has so many different takes to it, just like Chritianity. Indonesians have a sort of rubber-islam. it isn’t really islam islam, but has elements of sufi-ism in it etc. While prostitution is a definite no-no, there are other things that have different interpretations among different people. as for being a non-arab in Dubai, I have many Indian friends who live in Dubai, they seem pretty okay with it, in fact their life there seems preety easy. The locals don’t really force their way of life on my friends per se.

  • cab drivers are always the best source of information! Especially for the singaporean ones!

  • RE: Are u a Movie Buff? 
    No, its much worse than that…  I am a movie junkie.  But fortunately the theatres in Maui are so irritating that I have weened myself with occassional fixes from movies I cant resist.  But I am also a book addict who plans to die reading. 
    Dubai, huh?  For a small moment I had conteplated a degree in International studies, emphasis Middle East. I would have wanted to spend time there. I began to think that I might be a bit too liberal a woman for the area. I might become mean and spiteful instead of understanding and learned from the experience. 
    You seem to have had a bit of an adventure… cant wait for japan!

  • The thing is i dont even know who are the stalkers! Trying to track ‘em down though with the help of my friends..

  • hey i find ur blog real informative……….. for i always dream to travel around the globe………. keep the travelling experience coming…….. cheers

  • Blogs are so informative where we get lots of information on any topic. Nice job keep it  up!!I wish you good luck!by <a href=" http://www.nikeairjordan.cc">Cheap Jordans

  • Wonderful post, thanks for putting this together! “This is obviously one great post. Thanks for the valuable information and insights you have so provided here. Keep it up!”Dissertation Help | Custom Dissertation

  • hi there,I would be travelling to Dubai for business trip. And I would be staying out there for a month or maybe more also. I”m going to be alone. In this case as you are experienced. Can you tell me for massage where can I get indian and Pakistani and fillipino girls. And for fun where can I get Lebanese, Morocco, Irani, indian, pakistani girls.Thanks

  •  hey really neat writting skill man on my laptop the pictures dint open. but i guess you equally good photographer.. dude which hotel did u stay in ???

  • @vicky -  when are going to dubai ?am also going on business after business same interest like yours :)

  • Someday I will visit Dubai! is the happiest place in the world.

  • A huge round of applause, keep it up. marrakech hotels

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *