October 17, 2004


  • There were some very interesting responses to my previous post on the question of whether New York women are stuck-up. A couple observed that it is worse in Hong Kong and I have no doubt that it is true. Not only are the women more stuck-up in Hong Kong but they are also more superficial and shallow. And that equally applies to the men too. One of the reasons I dislike the island although it’s a great place to have fun with your friends and houses the best skyline at night in the world.


    Now shall I pose the question: Are LA women shallow and superficial?






    Icebreaker


    During the evening that I spent with the Brooklyn Babes, some interesting insight was gathered in regard to approaching any of them in a bar.


    Scenario 1
    Guy: “Can I buy you a drink?”


    Brooklyn Babe lifts up her glass to show him she already has a drink in her hand.


    Scenario 2
    Guy: “Are you by yourself?”


    Brooklyn Babe turns to her side and behind her to see if there was someone actually with her that she didn’t know about, her actions stating the obvious.


    Scenario 3
    Guy: “Do you wanna dance?”


    Brooklyn Babe: “No.”


    How would you respond to each of these scenarios? Would you just turn and walk away or think up something quickly in response?


    What actually happens afterwards will be revealed in my next post.





    To All Apple Mac Users


    Can you help?


    A friend of mine recently acquired an iMac equipped with OS X but when using AIM, she does not know if there is a ”talk” feature that can be activated. Does anyone know? 


    Plus, same friend would like to know where she can acquire free software or a player for her IMac that can play dvds that are not region 1 (North America).


    Many thanks in advance.





    Dr. Fongster’s Surgery


    From whonose


    Dr Fongster I have a problem.


    I am completely, indescribably insane. But this is not the problem. The problem lies with how my peers react to it. I thought friends were meant to accept you for who you are, but they seem to complain in varying degrees about times when my mentally disturbed nature kicks in. Who’d have thought they would kick up a fuss when I chase them round with a chainsaw (I mean its only the little 15-inch model!) or dissect their cat while enjoying an episode of Futurama being played backwards to the wonderful soft melody of iron maiden being played in the background?


    I think my friends are too fussy and seem to place to much importance on their limbs/pets/lives and not on my feelings.


    What can I do to make them see my plight?


    Yours schizophrenically,


    Luke


    Well, Luke, you are right there about your so called friends. They should accept you for who you are and not try to change you at all. You’re an eccentric. And like all eccentrics, whatever peculiar traits you possess should be celebrated and not complained about.


    My diagnosis is to show your friends that there exists like-minded peers that would welcome you with open arms. Invite your friends on an adventure to a little remote homestead in the backwoods of Texas. All of you will be greeted by another eccentric who likes to wear a facial mask made of human skin, and like you Luke, enjoys playing “tag” wielding a chainsaw. But it’s all in good fun. After spending some time with this family, your friends’ ignorant and prejudiced views will soon covert to acute open-mindedness.






    Thanks to The Tao for this!


    Lyrics Of The Day


    It’s quiet now
    And what it brings
    Is everything

    Comes calling back
    A brilliant night
    I’m still awake

    I looked ahead
    I’m sure I saw you there

    You don’t need me
    To tell you now
    That nothing can compare

    You might have laughed if I told you
    You might have hidden A frown
    You might have succeeded in changing me
    I might have been turned around

    It’s easier to leave than to be left behind
    Leaving was never my proud
    Leaving New York, never easy
    I saw the light fading out

    Now life is sweet
    And what it brings
    I tried to take
    But loneliness
    It wears me out
    It lies in way

    And all not lost
    Still in my eyes
    The shadow of necklace
    Across your thigh
    I might’ve lived my life in a dream, but I swear
    This is real
    Memory fuses and shatters like glass
    Mercurial future, forget the past
    It’s you, it’s what I feel.

    You might have laughed if I told you (it’s pulling me apart)
    You might have hidden a frown (change)
    You might have succeeded in changing me (it’s pulling me apart)
    I might have been turned around (change)

    It’s easier to leave than to be left behind (it’s pulling me apart)
    Leaving was never my proud (change)
    Leaving New York, never easy (it’s pulling me apart)
    I saw the light fading out
    You find it in your heart, it’s pulling me apart
    You find it in your heart, change…

    I told you, forever
    I love you, forever
    I told you, I love you
    I love you, forever
    I told you, forever
    You never, you never
    You told me forever

    You might have laughed if I told you
    You might have hidden the frown
    You might have succeeded in changing me
    I might have been turned around

    It’s easier to leave than to be left behind (it’s pulling me apart)
    Leaving was never my proud (change)
    Leaving New York never easy (it’s pulling me apart)
    I saw the life fading out (change)
    Leaving New York, never easy (it’s pulling me apart)
    I saw the light fading out (change)
    Leaving New York never easy (it’s pulling me apart)
    I saw the life fading out (change)



    REM – Leaving New York





    The Aliens


    Two aliens landed in the Arizona desert near an abandoned gas station. They approached one of the gas pumps, and one of the aliens addressed it.

    “Greetings, Earthling. We come in peace. Take us to your leader.”

    The gas pumps of course, didn’t respond. The alien repeated the greeting. Again there was no response. The alien, annoyed by what he perceived to be the gas pumps haughty attitude, drew his ray gun, and said impatiently, “Greetings earthling. We come in peace. How dare you ignore us in this way! Take us to your leader, or I’ll fire!”

    The other alien shouted to his comrade, “No, you don’t want to make him mad!” But before he finished his warning, the first alien fired.

    There was a huge explosion that blew both of them 200 meters into the desert, where they landed in a heap rather abruptly. When they finally regained consciousness, the one who fired turned to the other one and said, “What a ferocious creature. It damn near killed us! How did you know it was so dangerous?”

    The other alien answered, “If there’s one thing I’ve learned during my travels through the galaxy, when a guy has a penis he can wrap around himself twice and then stick it in his own ear, you don’t mess with him.”






    Tattoo Of The Year



     

Comments (32)

  • cute tattoo..funny joke..and I have found most women are stuck up..and I don’t like in a major city..and I am a woman..that is why I mainly have guy friends

  • hahahah!! love that tatoo!!

  • HAHAHA nice tattoo! (its not real is it?)

    i didn’t know brooklyn babes were so hard to pick up…u would think they’d welcome company sinch there’s so many people in the city. hmm the only hong kong i know is from chinese film and the area looks sooo packed..very claustrophobic. u should visit VIRGINIA (northern). :o ) our state motto is “Virginia is for lovers”

    happy day!

  • hmm fascinating scenarios of the brooklyn girls. cant wait to know what happens next!

  • Response to Scenario 3:

    I would say “No dance? OK, then we’ll talk!”

  • Like I said….we “invest” in ourselves….

  • Dr. Fongster

    its always there in the dark creeping up on me. even as i type now i can imagine its buzzing in my ears. i think it is planning to invade my space. everytime i let my guard down, it comes swiftly and buzzzzzzz away in my ears. i want to exact revange! i finally caught it and with it held in my fist, i open the slightest gap between my fingers and i went BBBBBUZZZZZ to irritate it back. Damn mosquito! sneaky thing flew away.now i think it is still there behind the curtains or up at the corner waiting with vengence. what should i do when it launches its attack again? i cant lose to that teeny mean face black mos!

    from
    bedstories buzz-light-ear

  • upon first thought, yes, LA women are shallow and superficial but when you really think about it, so are the men (for that matter, men in general are)…

  • i watched 2046 too on saturday! =P before you haha

  • ryc: but wouldn’t that defeat the purpose of being anonymous? ;) I dunno…maybe…ONE day…

  • why are people so into picking up strangers. isnt that just tacky in the first place….no wonder guys have a hard time. who wants to be picked up at a bar??? do you go out to pick up??? if you have something to offer someone you dont give it out to some loser who goes to a bar. i think women just want to hang out and have a good time without all the hassle.

    whereever i go guys talk to me about stupid stuff. if you laugh at what they say, you are stupid. if you give it up too easily, you are a slut and they dump you for someone who doesnt. if you play too hard to get, they want someone easier. its a no win situation.

  • I think it’s a bad idea to label women (and men, for that matter) as being of a certain ilk (i.e. superficial and shallow), based on their geographic area. You can create stereotypes based up the wazoo for every place on this planet. Once you start making generalizations like these, where do they stop?

    Need I remind you that most people who live in NYC aren’t even originally from New York? And the same goes for LA, if you think about how many aspiring actors fly there to jump start their career in Hollywood.

    Perhaps the statement needs to be made that most PEOPLE are shallow and superficial, especially in metropolitan cities. That generalization I can live with because it makes the most sense. When you get more out of life (money, power, fame, what have you), you tend to want that in your dating pool as well. In addition, if these elements are lacking in your life, you might seek them out in someone else.

    I think it is counter-productive to blame one’s city as the reason why they don’t want to talk to you. There’s probably more to it than that.

  • Luke : you scare me….

  • Thanks doc! I’ll buy my tickets right now!

    Wow will THIS make an interestng travelogue!

  • fongster you are right, HK people are very stuck up! (well the ones that are wealthy)
    thats a reason why I am glad I am not there anymore. though I have many “normal” friends there too.

  • Dear Dr Fongster,

    Due to the way public chose to view women, I am constantly having to rid of unsightly hair. Problem is, I’m sick of having to shave my underarms and legs. Waxing doesn’t solve the prob as the hair still gorws back, and I hear electrolysis is very expensive. Do you think a skin graft form my ass would help solve that prob permanantly and save me some cash? (It’s cheaper than electrolysis, I say. Also, I would be under anaesthesia, so I’ll feel less pain at once, I reckon. But hey, you’re the pro, u tell me.) The plus point is, the skin on my ass is cellulite and stretchmark free. Tell me what you think.

    Thx.

    -Wannabe Hairless

  • Not that this ever happens (haha)..

    ..but if a guy hits on me and I’m not interested, I’d usually say “I’m here with my boyfriend” or something along those lines.

    Sometimes, if I’m going out to a place to accompany a friend, I’ll even wear a ring – just so I have a surefire way out of things. Lame eh?

  • I’m so lucky not living in New York and not living in Hong Kong. Come to Amsterdam to meet some real people !!!

  • Honestly, I think you will find shallow women everywhere you go. Yes, LA has it’s fair share.

    Oh, and in regards to the part about being hit on… I try to be straight to the point if I’m not interested…but it doesn’t hurt to be nice, either. And I’ll pretty much dance with whomever, I love to dance! :)

  • for your friends with the iMac>>>

    AIM will not have a “talk” feature on a mac. her MSN will also be lacking the “voicechat” function.

    if she really does want to talk to her friends through her new mac, i suggest she goes to: http://www.skype.com and downloads that software which will allow her to talk to her friends (or incredibly anonymous people) through the phone.

    yours truly,
    experienced mac user :)

  • haha….can’t wait to read the next “icebreaker”…hmm…LA women..=X

  • hahaha is that really a REAL tattoo?? no way!

  • haha just referring to the good old days when I use that excuse about the dog eating my homework

  • LA women eh??  Can’t wait to see how they rate compared to us NYers….=)

    I happened to have SHARED the cake….although it was more like “one slice for u….two for me…one for u…two for me….”  Don’t be surprised to find a slightly heavier Brooklyn Babe the next time we meet!!  =

  • i probably would have responded the way brooklyn babe would have.  monosyllabic with a hint of sarcasm

  • nice aliens joke.  i like it.  hehehehe 

    i don’t think i should comment on the shallow women bit.  i’m extremely jaded and cynical and would most likely unleash a torrent of unpleasantries that would get my lynched!  hehehehehe  =P 

    as for the icebreaker bit….what kind of lame pick up lines are those???  i never respond well to those….they’re so shallow.  why can’t guys just go up and make nice conversations with girls? 

    asking a girl with a drink in her hand if you can buy her a drink – are you implying she’s an alcoholic or are you just trying to ply her with enough liquor to impair her judgment so she’ll sleep with you???

    asking a girl sitting by herself whether she’s alone or not – are you trying to rub it in that she possibly has no friends or are you profiling a victim to stalk? 

    asking a girl plainly if she wants to dance – this is almost the equivalent of no foreplay before sex.  you can’t say hi and get her name first?  is she supposed to swoon at ‘wanna dance?’ 

    this is just one maniaclly mean girl’s opinion of the whole pick-up scene…..normal humans should not pay any attention to me at all!!!  hehehehe  =P

  • I am from LA and I say yes to LA women being superficial and shallow. Of course, there are exceptions but the majority of them give us a bad rap. I think their arrogance comes from survival. When you are beautiful in LA, you are treated better. Beauty and wealth are high priority. Thank goodness, I don’t live there and an hour and half drive keeps me away.

  • It’s true that New Yorkers aren’t the nicest of people. I live in Jersey, visit NYC all the time, and well… It’s true. And the truth is, I probably would’ve responded the same as all those rude females. But you must understand that most guys are probably not as polite as you are. Most New York men, are, well, assholes probably trying to get in your pants in the most vulgar way possible. So, we’re a tad stuck up. If you stayed there as long as they had, your defenses and bitch factor would go skyrocketting.

  • thanks.  i like your blog too, it’s amusing!

    i very much agree both men and women in HK are superficial and shallow – even though i’m living in HK, i’m ashamed of it!  especially i see some of them everyday (those are in my office)…  i don’t know about the LA women but some hongkongese whom used to study in UCLA (at least 6 or 7 years ago), they still like to start the conversation with “when we were in UCLA…blah blah blah…”, i feel so sorry for them…

    scenario 1, 2, 3 – i gave the same response before, lol.  i think those are kinda “model answers” :D  perhaps some guys should think more creative or better pick up lines!? :p

  • great blog, but the eprops are for the tattoo alone, that is hilarious!

  • hi Fongster!  sorry i don’t comment more often, but your site rocks!

  • if i was the guy a good

    “bitch” would do just fine followed by walking away

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *