October 12, 2004


  • Winter Clearout


    Now the temperatures have been steadily dropping, the time is now to don into more thicker and warmer attire. Most of my summer clothes will be packed and transported back to Liverpool when I return there at the end of the month for a couple of days. I’d been selecting some old clothes to donate to the charity shop and it reminded me of a couple of female friends who frequently donate their clothes.


    They amass a huge amount of clothes every season which equates to at least one piece of clothing purchased a week. Every six months the clothes are then donated to the charity shop. I’m wondering if this is just a female thing. Most guys I know including myself wear the same seasonal clothes for at least two years before they are disposed of. Or maybe we are not that fashion conscious.


    How long do you keep your clothes before chucking them out or donate them?





    Dr. Fongster’s Surgery


    From Lashytang 


    Hi Dr. Fongster,


    What sort of proof can you show me before I trust you with my problems? And how will I know for sure you will be able to cure them?



    Well, Lash, I have here testimonials from celebrated giants such as Oprah who rave about my skills and ability to help deranged people such as yourself. And if I cannot help you then you really are beyond help.


    Oprah: “I am amazed by Dr. Fongster’s commitment to help people that society has shunned. He has treated thirty of my stalkers so far.”


    Dr. Phil: “I am just glad that Dr. Fongster doesn’t have his own TV show otherwise he will trash me in the ratings. He is that good.”


    Dr. Ruth: “Dr. Fongster is a great addition to the team. Perhaps he can treat the stalkers on xanga so the online blogging community will be that much more sane.”


    Dr. Hannibal Lecter: “Dr. Fongster? Ah yes, I always refer to him my…undelectable patients.”


     


    Do you have a problem? Are you mentally disturbed? Is Life becoming too much of a stress? Are you hearing voices? Do you believe you’re The Messiah? Do you suffer from a disorder? Are you the disorder?


    Then let Dr Fongster help you! With fake doctorates and Phds in psychiatry, sex therapy, psychology, sociology, neurology, zoology, anyology, Dr Fongster is highly qualified and highly trained to solve any problems you may have.


    Just leave your problems in the comments’ section and Dr Fongster will soon provide a solution to make your life that much more mise- better!





    New York Trip


    Sunday 26 September 2004


    My final day in New York. My entire stay had been besieged by glorious weather and this day was no different.


    Just a few shots I took before brunch.









    Brunch at a very busy Penelope’s in Murray Hill.



    Then a stroll to Central Park passing by the Metropolitan Museum.



    Central Park



    Belvedere Castle



    Belvedere Tower






    A crowd enjoying the music of a busker.




    A small area of the Park was dedicated to rollerbladers.




    It was a very thoroughly enjoyable day spent in Central Park and the evening was spent with Daisy, Sean, Ms C and her boyfriend at the Italian restaurant, Va Tutto, near Little Italy.



    And we passed this dessert eatery which serves cold rice pudding! In the UK, rice pudding is served hot and it should be eaten hot.  



    Finally a drink at this amply named bar. I just love the names that decorate various establishments in the Big Apple. The girl who inadvertently walked into my shot was hot!






    Desert Island Golf


    A man is stranded on a desert island, all alone for ten years. One day, he sees a speck in the horizon. He thinks to himself, “It’s not a ship.” The speck gets a little closer and he thinks, “It’s not a boat.” The speck gets even closer and he thinks, “It’s not a raft.” Then, out of the surf comes this gorgeous blonde woman, wearing a wet suit and scuba gear. She comes up to the guy and says, “How long has it been since you’ve had a cigarette?”

    “Ten years!”, he says.

    She reaches over and unzips a waterproof pocket on her left sleeve and pulls out a pack of fresh cigarettes.

    He takes one, lights it, takes a long drag, and says, “Man, oh man! Is that good!”

    Then she asked, “How long has it been since you’ve had a drink of whiskey?”

    He replies, “Ten years!”

    She reaches over, unzips her waterproof pocket on her right sleeve, pulls out a flask and gives it to him.

    He takes a long swig and says, “Wow, that’s fantastic!”

    Then she starts unzipping a longer zipper that runs down the front of her wet suit and she says to him, “And how long has it been since you’ve had some real fun?”

    And the man replies, “Wow! Don’t tell me that you’ve got golf clubs in there!”






    Only In Hawaii





     

Comments (37)

  • Dr. Fongster, you are stunning.

    I chuck my clothes often, sometimes within a week of when I’ve worn them last. However, it’s all wishful thinking. “I’m going to stop dressing like a bum and wearing this….” and then I just revert back to my own slack habbits.

  • Dear Dr.,
    I no longer dispose of my clothing. I simlpy wear it until the threads disentegrate. I realized that another statute of Murphy’s Law is that the day that you finally decide that it is okay to part with that brocade and pleather jumpsuit is exactly 3 months and 6 days before it comes back into style and you desperately wish you had never parted with it.

  • one more awesome New York tour.

  • I tend to wear things, especially shoes that have been broken in, for years and years until they fall apart… and then purchase replacements that look exactly the same as their predecesors.  Right now, I’m wearing the 3rd generation of my black zip-up hoodie! :)   (Oh, and btw, you know I was just kidding about the ladies’ man comment, right?) :/

  • Sure, I’ll be glad to show you around.
    I’d like to get about 4 people to make this a group tour.  That way you all can converse amongst yourself when I am eating/driving.

  • you should definitely see Lion King the next time you come to NY….hmm…..let me think of a question to ask Dr. Fongster….=)

  • I usually wear my clothes till they get really old, so most of them can’t be donated because they’re broken. But if I “get tired” of something -which doesn’t happen anymore cuz I buy my clothes now and I think a lot before any purchase- I donate it immediately. Otherwise it will stay in my closet “just in case” for 2 or 3 years…
    Central park is so great! And the squirrels (sp?), I loved those. We don’t have any here, except in the zoo. Or in the mountains.

    Take care!

  • HAHA!!  I love your Desert Island Golf joke….=)

    You forgot to mention the charges for your services, Dr. Fongster…  And do fellow FONGs get a discount?

  • The self life of my cloths is quite long. I just chuck away a skirt I bought in college.

  • my friend says you are not to be trusted but my rabbit says you are my last hope.  Too bad I was craving rabbit at the time.

  • i’m the biggest pack rat. i tend to keep my stuff for yeeeeeeeeeeears even if i never wear it.

    eating in the water isn’t a bad idea at all! great way to keep cool :)

  • It’s my xanga I can cry if I want to!

  • I feel sick just thinking about cold rice pudding.

  • nice pics of Central park
    i was just going to say I agree with Luke
    COLD RICE PUDDING?
    *shudder*

  • Mhhhhhhh COLD RICE PUDDING! I keep my clothes until I made a spot with colkd rice pudding on it. With vanilla, please.

  • Hey,

    New York looks really cool!

    Anyway I’m in the midst of saving money to go to Holland. I’ve been looking at pictures and wow, the Netherlands is so beautiful!

  • i usually wait at least a year or so before i throw anything out..i like to hold on to my stuff..i’m a pack rat, what can i say…

    alright dr. fongster, i have a problem.  a few weeks ago i got involved with a friend, a guy that i’ve known for at least 10 years, and we started messing around. it’s nothing serious, but we both have acknowledged that we care about each other, but he’s said to me that he’s very unsure, plus he’s moving in 8 months to another state.  i do care about this guy and want to pursue a relationship with him but i’m not sure if i should? what’s your take?  (if you need additional details, i’ll be more than happy to give them)

  • yes, it’s true.  they do that…I lived in Honolulu for 7 years. :D

  • pics reminded me of all the great things bout new york.  the statue in front of rockerfeller center is atlas holding up the world.  and that snacks place in chinatown is manna from heaven.  i went to rice to riches opening week, but thought it not worth the expense.  did you get out to flushing?

  • Is that Hawaii picture for real????  How rad is that?

  • hm, some of my clothes have been keeping for over 10 yrs, LOL because those are made by my mom.  they are valuable and i didn’t want to throw them away nor donate them.

    normally i wear clothes till they are really old or if it’s torn…

  • Hi ! Dr. Fongster,

    For good sake of those patients, I badly need your help ?

    I’ve a friend who always image himself as a Doctor.

    If you need further information for reference, please contact him driect at aol : xxx88.

    But make sure you’ve made an appointment with his nurse.

     

     

     

     

  • 1. I keep my clothes ENTIRELY TOO LONG. I mean, I don’t wear some of the hideous things, but I dunno… I have a hard time throwing them out. I need CLEAN SWEEP to come help me. I tend to wear the same favorite outfits…and of course, buy more clothes. :) hehe.

    2. Only in Hawaii. HAHA. I wanna be there!

  • Anybody who lives in Mobile, Alabama never dispose or donate their clothes.  Change is so impossible here, that whatever you own 10 years ago, you could probably still go to the mall without anyone pointing, giggling at you. ;p hehehehe…it’s just so amazing…clothes – during summer – it’s short sleeve or sleeveless…winter…same design but sleeves added – that’s all.

  • I keep my clothes for ages before I give them to the charity shop! Some are more than 5 years old!!!

    All you photographs of New York make me want to go back there. I miss it there. The advertising in Times Sq has changed!

    I remember the roller skaters in Central park, we watched them for ages, I filmed it as well. There were old ladies skating and one male who thought he was a ballerina!

    I was kicking myself, after I saw your photograph of New york’s public library, I never got the chance to go there, even though I was there for four weeks. I was told that they filmed Ghostbusters in there!!

    I love Grand Central station, it’s so grand! I always used to buy cakes from there!

    When I last went to the Rockerfella (sp?) building, they had a car exhibition out there! I also went to the NBC tour there!

    oh the memories. Your photographs are excellent.

    Hmm I like the way you have aligned your photographs vertically on the left! They look professional!

    LMFAO I love the review Dr Hannibal gave you! You had me in stitiches!

    Take care,
    Taya

  • hi! ^-^ i like your xanga.. and the pix. random props. PCE OUT! ^-^
    -jojo

  • what hotel in NYC did you stay?

  • nice xanga.. that last picture looks like a cool place to eat. comment back

                ali

  • i still have and wear some clothes from junior high….that was what?  oh ummmm about 17 years ago…sorry, i’m a pack rat of the worst degree.  if it ain’t broke, i ain’t chucking it!  but, last time when i moved out of my place in sf, they MADE me give away some of my clothes!!!  i was so sad…..and some of my friends came over like vultures to pick out what they wanted.  it was just wrong man!!!  so very very WRONG!!!  whew!  ok, i got that off my chest….i guess i don’t need dr. fongster’s help to cope after all!  hahahahaa

    oh and that girl that walked into your sweet n vicious shot, DAMN she’s HOT!!!  ;)

  • I hold onto my clothes until it doesn’t fit anymore.  Clothes have  a tendency to shrink. Oh wait, that could mean I’m getting bigger too.  I like the Hawaii pix.  Very cool.

  • I’m sorry to hear that you’re not happy being back in Amsterdam, but it’s your home.  I see that you really liked New York, I’ll be there in January.  I can’t wait.  Where else have you been?

  • Ahhhh, New York….Rice to Riches? Interesting! I thought rice pudding was always served hot! The comment you lef ton my site about Asian men not having any hair made me laugh! I hope you are enjoying Angels in America!

  • david? u look more like a jason. check out my xanga when u get the chance.

  • hmmmm maybe you could treat my stalker..:P xx

  • So when does Dr Fong’s surgery deal with my problem?

  • hannibal is a good read

  • Hi David!  To answer you question, I don’t buy so many new clothes every year.  When I actually chuck or donate clothes varies.  The pics look great.  Like the Dr. Hannibal Lecter blurb.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories